Crimson Red Sports

Around Campus => The Quad => Topic started by: Chechem on December 01, 2014, 05:41:56 AM



Title: "Alabama had reason to be mad about this missed Iron Bowl call"
Post by: Chechem on December 01, 2014, 05:41:56 AM
http://www.foxsports.com/college-football/story/alabama-auburn-iron-bowl-crimson-tide-tigers-refs-calls-rules-replay-mike-pereira-112914

Quote
Let’s look at the NCAA Rule Book, Part 2, under "interpretations'' for the answer. Under the Completed Pass, Article 6, rule 7-3-6, section 2: Two opposing players receive a legal forward pass while both are off the ground, and one payer returns to the ground inbounds before the other.  Ruling: No simultaneous catch. The legal forward pass is completed or intercepted by the player who first returned to the ground.

 #+ #+ #+ #+ #+ #+


Title: Re: "Alabama had reason to be mad about this missed Iron Bowl call"
Post by: N.AL-Tider on December 01, 2014, 05:58:46 AM
Yep! They blew that one based on that...


Title: Re: "Alabama had reason to be mad about this missed Iron Bowl call"
Post by: Chechem on December 01, 2014, 06:05:26 AM
Yep! They blew that one based on that...

We said that during the in-game thread.  'Simultaneous catch' never enters the equation.

Should have asked us!   :dunno:

 :lol2: :lol2: :lol2:


Title: Re: "Alabama had reason to be mad about this missed Iron Bowl call"
Post by: cbbama99 on December 01, 2014, 06:17:26 AM
What a shock. An SEC officiating crew missed a call.  :eyeroll:


Title: Re: "Alabama had reason to be mad about this missed Iron Bowl call"
Post by: 2Stater on December 01, 2014, 07:21:11 AM
Sylve had possession when he hit the ground, anyway. The barner only had one arm on the ball.


Title: Re: "Alabama had reason to be mad about this missed Iron Bowl call"
Post by: Chechem on December 01, 2014, 08:48:34 AM
Sylve had possession when he hit the ground, anyway. The barner only had one arm on the ball.

Here's the most salient point:

Sylve had possession first, put a foot down in bounds.  As soon as his other foot was OB, the catch was his.  No wrestling on the ground mattered.

Right, one arm on the ball didn't give the Aub ANY possession.


Title: Re: "Alabama had reason to be mad about this missed Iron Bowl call"
Post by: Catch Prothro on December 01, 2014, 09:12:52 AM
Sylve had possession when he hit the ground, anyway. The barner only had one arm on the ball.

Here's the most salient point:

Sylve had possession first, put a foot down in bounds.  As soon as his other foot was OB, the catch was his.  No wrestling on the ground mattered.

Right, one arm on the ball didn't give the Aub ANY possession.
I think this is probably exactly how it happened.  But hard to be sure from the video.  At the stadium, I was calling for an INT call before they announced the review.  Either way, it should have been Bama's football.


Title: "Nick Saban explains failed opening kickoff, simultaneous possession call from Iron Bowl"
Post by: WALL-E on December 01, 2014, 01:37:02 PM
Nick Saban explains failed opening kickoff, simultaneous possession call from Iron Bowl
(http://media.al.com/alabamafootball_impact/photo/auburn-alabama-football-1ddb9fa4c4e91799.jpg)Answers to the questions that lingered after the Iron Bowl.

Read more...


Title: Re: "Alabama had reason to be mad about this missed Iron Bowl call"
Post by: McBaman on December 01, 2014, 03:23:58 PM
This was the second blown call in two weeks that hurt Bama. (The other was the 2nd WCU  TD.)  I hope the Univ. complains to the SEC about both of these.  SEC officials are still baaaaaad news.  Steve Shaw should be embarrassed.


Title: Re: "Alabama had reason to be mad about this missed Iron Bowl call"
Post by: SUPERCOACH on December 01, 2014, 03:44:58 PM
This was the second blown call in two weeks that hurt Bama. (The other was the 2nd WCU  TD.)  I hope the Univ. complains to the SEC about both of these.  SEC officials are still baaaaaad news.  Steve Shaw should be embarrassed.

Don't forget about the inadvertent whistle that overturned the fumble and gave the ball back to WCU on the first TD drive.

That inadvertent whistle rule needs to be tweaked.  Why does the offense get to choose whether or not to do the play over on an inadvertent whistle?  The defense didn't blow the whistle, the ref did.  The play is just as likely to be good for the defense as it is for the offense, so why punish the defense?  I guess the first mistake is blowing the whistle early in the first place, that should never happen and it has happened twice that I saw in the last week, both times by SEC crews.


Title: Re: "Alabama had reason to be mad about this missed Iron Bowl call"
Post by: crimson13 on December 01, 2014, 04:46:58 PM
Help me understand that rule.  What was the difference in the play where they fumbled and when DH fumbled.  The whistle blew on both plays while the ball was on the ground.  Why was the WCU fumble different?


Title: Re: "Alabama had reason to be mad about this missed Iron Bowl call"
Post by: SUPERCOACH on December 01, 2014, 05:02:54 PM
Help me understand that rule.  What was the difference in the play where they fumbled and when DH fumbled.  The whistle blew on both plays while the ball was on the ground.  Why was the WCU fumble different?

I am asking the same question myself.  I think the fumble immediately recovered by the defense rule should have applied, so we would have gotten the ball at the spot of the recovery but not been able to run it back.