Crimson Red Sports

Around Campus => The Quad => Topic started by: roll tide roll on December 02, 2013, 07:52:32 AM



Title: question about Mandell's blocked punt
Post by: roll tide roll on December 02, 2013, 07:52:32 AM

When the punt was blocked it was touched by an au player.

That makes it a live ball.  Correct?
There are no protected players on a live ball. Correct?

So, BAMA coverage guys should have/could have run down field decapitated the au return man, before he touched the ball,  picked up the ball and run in for a TD; or BAMA coverage guys could have fielded the punt and run in for a score, or taken possession at the point of recovery.

Is this still the rule, or am I dating myself?


Title: Re: question about Mandell's blocked punt
Post by: SUPERCOACH on December 02, 2013, 10:34:10 AM
I am not sure about that one.  Can we advance our own blocked punt?  I know the defense can.  I may be confusing the college rule and the NFL rule.

:dunno:


Title: Re: question about Mandell's blocked punt
Post by: pmull on December 02, 2013, 10:37:13 AM
I think the rule is the kicking team can advance a blocked kick behind the line of scrimmage only.


Title: Re: question about Mandell's blocked punt
Post by: Chechem on December 02, 2013, 11:23:07 AM
I think the rule is the kicking team can advance a blocked kick behind the line of scrimmage only.

True. 

And decapitation is illegal (except in  Kazakhstan).  :lol2:


Title: Re: question about Mandell's blocked punt
Post by: roll tide roll on December 02, 2013, 01:02:05 PM
I am not sure about that one.  Can we advance our own blocked punt?  I know the defense can.  I may be confusing the college rule and the NFL rule.

:dunno:

I might be confusing them as well.

I think the rule is the kicking team can advance a blocked kick behind the line of scrimmage only.

I am not arguing with you.  I am simply discussing for clarification.

So, team A blocks team B's punt, and the punt lands one foot in front of the LOS.
B/c team B cannot advance its own punt they have to wait for team A to touch the ball before it becomes live again?

Obviously, downing of the ball by team B would be an option.

It seems that if a kicked ball can touch a player on the receiving team and be ruled live and free then a block (touch by player on receiving team) would lead to the same thing.




Title: Re: question about Mandell's blocked punt
Post by: carl childers on December 02, 2013, 01:07:39 PM
Touching of a scrimmage kick is ignored as far as change of possession in or behind the neutral zone. If the ball is recovered behind the neutral zone by the kicking team it can be advanced


Title: Re: question about Mandell's blocked punt
Post by: roll tide roll on December 02, 2013, 02:02:53 PM
Touching of a scrimmage kick is ignored as far as change of possession in or behind the neutral zone. If the ball is recovered behind the neutral zone by the kicking team it can be advanced

Thanks.


Title: Re: question about Mandell's blocked punt
Post by: Peewee from Grand Bay on December 03, 2013, 11:59:41 AM
I am not sure about that one.  Can we advance our own blocked punt?  I know the defense can.  I may be confusing the college rule and the NFL rule.

:dunno:

I might be confusing them as well.

I think the rule is the kicking team can advance a blocked kick behind the line of scrimmage only.

I am not arguing with you.  I am simply discussing for clarification.

So, team A blocks team B's punt, and the punt lands one foot in front of the LOS.
B/c team B cannot advance its own punt they have to wait for team A to touch the ball before it becomes live again?

Obviously, downing of the ball by team B would be an option.

It seems that if a kicked ball can touch a player on the receiving team and be ruled live and free then a block (touch by player on receiving team) would lead to the same thing.



It is the same thing as if he just tipped the ball. The only way Bama could have retained possession would have been for an Auburn player to touch the ball beyond the line of scrimmage. Still after that it could not be advanced. Once the ball is kicked possession changes. 


Title: Re: question about Mandell's blocked punt
Post by: carl childers on December 04, 2013, 02:38:25 PM
I am not sure about that one.  Can we advance our own blocked punt?  I know the defense can.  I may be confusing the college rule and the NFL rule.

:dunno:

I might be confusing them as well.

I think the rule is the kicking team can advance a blocked kick behind the line of scrimmage only.

I am not arguing with you.  I am simply discussing for clarification.

So, team A blocks team B's punt, and the punt lands one foot in front of the LOS.
B/c team B cannot advance its own punt they have to wait for team A to touch the ball before it becomes live again?

Obviously, downing of the ball by team B would be an option.

It seems that if a kicked ball can touch a player on the receiving team and be ruled live and free then a block (touch by player on receiving team) would lead to the same thing.



It is the same thing as if he just tipped the ball. The only way Bama could have retained possession would have been for an Auburn player to touch the ball beyond the line of scrimmage. Still after that it could not be advanced. Once the ball is kicked possession changes. 

That's not quite accurate. Possession does not change when the ball is kicked. The kick has to pass the LOS. If a scrimmage kick, in this case a punt, does not cross the neutral zone, the kicking team may advance it.  If the kick passes the LOS and is muffed, the kick can be recovered by the kick team but not advanced, since the kick has not ended. If the kick is possessed by the receiving team and then fumbled, the ball can be advanced by the kicking team if recovered.


Title: Re: question about Mandell's blocked punt
Post by: Peewee from Grand Bay on December 05, 2013, 08:08:29 AM
I am not sure about that one.  Can we advance our own blocked punt?  I know the defense can.  I may be confusing the college rule and the NFL rule.

:dunno:

I might be confusing them as well.

I think the rule is the kicking team can advance a blocked kick behind the line of scrimmage only.

I am not arguing with you.  I am simply discussing for clarification.

So, team A blocks team B's punt, and the punt lands one foot in front of the LOS.
B/c team B cannot advance its own punt they have to wait for team A to touch the ball before it becomes live again?

Obviously, downing of the ball by team B would be an option.

It seems that if a kicked ball can touch a player on the receiving team and be ruled live and free then a block (touch by player on receiving team) would lead to the same thing.



It is the same thing as if he just tipped the ball. The only way Bama could have retained possession would have been for an Auburn player to touch the ball beyond the line of scrimmage. Still after that it could not be advanced. Once the ball is kicked possession changes.  

That's not quite accurate. Possession does not change when the ball is kicked. The kick has to pass the LOS. If a scrimmage kick, in this case a punt, does not cross the neutral zone, the kicking team may advance it.  If the kick passes the LOS and is muffed, the kick can be recovered by the kick team but not advanced, since the kick has not ended. If the kick is possessed by the receiving team and then fumbled, the ball can be advanced by the kicking team if recovered.
Yes Carl that is correct and that is what I meant to say that once the ball is kicked beyond the line of scrimmage possession changes.


fixed the format - Chech